Poems

The Sanguine Say

 “Look how she bled on the altar floor. Covering the walls with menstrual flow.

Quite common for damsels of her age to bleed transitioning from young girls to maturity.

Blasphemous and callous of you, oh fellow villagers to neglect this orphan’s call in her hour of misery,
Thou shalt have provided her with at least a pad of cloth to let her hide her beauteous ignominy.”

            “But high priest how doth thou condemns our actions, shadowing our inability through the façade of callous misogyny.

   I reiterate and I question thy authority through my meticulous verbosity. What wrong did we, the destitute in this modern economy, do to be reprimanded.

All of a sudden don’t tell me that thou hath started to care for them- thou affably called mongrel.

                        I reinstate from my memory how thou insinuated us against these wandering children, the likes of those who had lost a limb or a next of kin.

I remember how thou asked us to marry the girlchildren as soon as they hit puberty.

Thy ghastly remarks made us cringe though the sole subterfuge of today’s reality being,

The sanitary pads cost more than anything. Been taxed at twelve percent alike, such stance of the legislators makes us ponder,

Of the eternal doom we face, passing the goods and services tax,

Banning the poor’s way of life sans existence.

                         I ask thee again, oh fellow comrades.

Shouldn’t we rebuke against this inescapable tyranny?

Of necessities been augmented to diabolic, nihilistic profiteering!”

Leave a comment